Historic Hatfield Book Now Available
Due to continued interest, a Third Edition of Historic Hatfield is now available. Originally published in 1992 by Robert “Bob” Teeples, the 240-page book includes color and black and white photos, many from the collection of the late Violet Teeples, sister to Bob. The Table of Contents reveals how Teeples divided the volume into sections about Dells, Dam, Halcyon, Komensky, the Powerhouse Dam and Canal in the Hatfield area, and numerous other subjects that tell of the past and present history of Hatfield. The book includes a section paying tribute to the colorful and industrious Bohemian pioneers. Also included is an excerpt from a paper written by Jone Johnson Hoffman in 1971 regarding the Bohemians, and an article written by Charles “Chuck” Kingswan, “Between What Waters”?
Many of the Hatfield area families are featured in the book, along with a map identifying families who resided in the area prior to the Government Buy-Out in 1935. Information for this map was provided by the late Otto Jelinek.
Reprinting the Third Edition was spearheaded by Joyce Turner of Hatfield who was also the inspiration for Teeples writing the book, nearly 40 years ago. The book sells for $25 and is being sold as a fundraiser for the Hatfield Fire Department. It may be purchased at various Hatfield business locations or at the Black River Falls Public Library-Jackson County History Room. Contact Jackson County Historian, Mary I. Murray Woods at 715-284-4112, #3 for more information.
Dennis Gjerseth, left, was among several individuals who enjoyed a presentation by Jeff Kannel at the Black River Falls Public Library last week. Sponsored by the Library’s History Room, Kannel recently published a book, ‘Make Way for Liberty: Wisconsin African Americans in the Civil War’. Kannel’s ten-year research brought him to the History Room several years ago where he did extensive research on Daniel Underhill. Underhill was born free in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. His wife, Mary Jane, bore their first child there. By 1855, they were living in the unincorporated village of Black River Falls. Underhill operated a barber shop and worked as a ferryman. The Underhills bought and sold several properties in town between 1856 and 1860. On his enlistment form in 1864, Underhill gave his occupation as lumberman. He may have worked winters in the pineries, on rafting crews, and in a mill during the summer. Kannel’s book, that received the 2021 Book of Merit Award from the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators, is available for check-out at the Black River Falls Public Library.
A wonderful, rare donation to the Jackson County History Room
There never seems to be an end to donations to the Black River Falls Public Library-Jackson County History Room, and sometimes they are “never seen before” items. Recently Historian Mary Woods received this booklet on Vaudreuil from researcher Sandra Lawrence of California. Sandra utilized the History Room when gathering information on her ancestors who settled in Black River Falls; Ingeborg and Elias, children of John Larsen Kvernstuen and Ingeborg Pedersdatter Gullord. Several other family members settled in Coon Prairie in 1851. The family connected to the Levis Family. The family history can be found in Lawrence’s book, The Miller’s Cottage that is available in the Jackson County History Room.
Vaudreuil was a settlement, compromising of about 3,000 acres, about one mile east of Black River Falls lying on the south bank of Levis Creek. Developed in the early 1900’s, it was the idea of E. J. Vaudreuil to build a packing plant which would grow its own raw materials without recourse to outside supplies. The land was surveyed and platted into 100 blocks. It was laid out for business and residential, business streets along with a block plant, sash and door factory, schoolhouse, a general store, and about a dozen homes. The booklet contains a map of the proposed settlement. Vaudreuil’s dream never became a reality. For more information on Vaudreuil make a visit to the Black River Falls Public Library-Jackson County History Room and read about the short-lived community.
A Unique Resource Found in the Jackson County History Room
Most researchers will agree that each Library/History Room has a unique resource for those seeking family information. A resource unique to the Black River Falls Public library-Jackson County History Room are Memorial Cards. Today, researchers will find over 3,400 donated Memorial Cards to review and copy for their family histories.
Historian Mary I. Murray Woods states that the project began when she became historian in December 1994. Mary’s father, William Murray, had a large collection of Memorial Cards, and the family did not know what to do with them. Mary found the perfect home for the cards – the Jackson County History Room.
A former volunteer in the History Room, Donna Rousey, began indexing the cards. Being she was active in the Alma Center Cemetery and worked closely with area funeral directors she was given Memorial Cards for many of the area funerals. Throughout the years, the collection grew as families, aware of the History Room’s Memorial Card Collection, gave cards they found when cleaning out a loved one’s home or closing out an estate.
Recently Volunteer Trudy Rosenbaum Arrington put all the card names on a database for researchers to search by name. Woods stated, “Trudy is a wonderful volunteer and having this project on a database is a great resource for History Room visitors.” Woods adds, “Memorial Cards contain information that can be helpful in many ways, such as the names of pallbearers who may not be relatives, but friends and neighbors. These friends and neighbors may offer a personal story or life experience of the deceased which again, adds to the family’s history.”
Those interested in searching the Memorial Cards database, may contact Historian Woods by email at email@example.com or by visiting the Black River Falls Public Library-Jackson County History Room, 222 Fillmore Street, Black River Falls, WI 54615. Mary may also be reached by calling, 715-284-4112 Ext 3. The History Room is open Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday from 11 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., or by appointment.
The Jackson County History Room has over 200 family histories that contain a wealth of information. According to Historian Mary Woods, most of the family histories are from researchers who have utilized the Room for their research, and when their research was compiled, shared a copy of their work. Woods added that these histories, along with the hundreds of biographical files available to researchers, makes the History Room the perfect place for researchers. You may now search the listing of family histories by going to the library’s main menu, then go to the History Room tab and then to local research. There you will find the family names listed alphabetical. The list includes the family name, author, and date of publication. The histories cannot be checked out, but Woods notes that she certainly is available to answer questions regarding a specific book. Pictured are Woods, left, and History Room Volunteer, Grace Nordahl, who worked to organize the family histories. Questions regarding the collection may be obtained by contacting Woods at 715-285-4112 #3 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org. History Room hours are M-T-W, from 11 am – 4:30 pm, or by appointment.